52 Ancestors 2015 #24: Heirlooms

Week 24 (June 11-17) – Heirloom: What heirloom do you treasure? Who gave it to you? What heirloom do you wish you had?

I have a few heirlooms – but the two precious ones – one that belonged to my great-grandmother, Hazel Pearl (Roberts) Reynolds and one that belonged to her mother, Carrie Evelyn (Hawkins) Roberts.

This hall tree (or coat rack) was a wedding gift to my great-grandparents in 1919. The picture below is my great-grandmother Hazel with my toddler grandmother, Helen. In the background, you can see the hall tree.

Hazel & Helen Reynolds 1920-1921

Hazel & Helen Reynolds 1920-1921

And here is a picture of the same hall tree in my home. It is about 95-96 years old.

Reynolds Hall Tree 2008

Reynolds Hall Tree 2008

This is the wheel from my great-great-grandmother’s spinning wheel. My mother said that when my grandfather and Uncle Ken found it in the farmhouse, he remembered his mother using it. When I was growing up, it hung on the wall of my parent’s house. Now it hangs on the wall of mine.

Carrie's spinning wheel 2015

Carrie’s spinning wheel 2015

Considering Carrie was married in 1886 and likely had the spinning wheel from then, it could be close to 130 years old.

Carpenter Trunk closed 2015

Carpenter Trunk closed 2015

Carpenter trunk open 2015

Carpenter trunk open 2015

Closeup of Carpenter trunk 2015

Closeup of Carpenter trunk 2015

My trunk belonged to Jesse Richard Carpenter 1890-1960. I was told he used it during his service in the U.S. Army.  It was a gift from my mother in the late 1980’s and I use it as a ‘hope chest’ – storing old lace, trinkets, baby clothes and photo albums in it.

Relation to me: father in law of great-uncle

Jesse was the father of Ella Carpenter who married Henry Adolph Graff, the brother of my
grandfather, Edward Dewey Graff.

I have so many beautiful things, a copper vase from my grandfather,  a child’s Japanese tea set from my grandma Polly, crystal from my mom…but these are a few I thought would be interesting to share.

About T.K. Eldridge

Consultant/Writer
This entry was posted in Graff/Roberts/Reynolds/etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52 Ancestors 2015 #24: Heirlooms

  1. Linda Jacobs says:

    Love the spinning wheel wheel, no spinnerspring except me in my family.

    • kessara says:

      I’ve always wanted to learn how to spin. I have the legs and cross-brace for the thing, but a few pieces are missing – like the board to fasten it all together and the other moving parts. I have them safely stored away in the event I ever get someone to make them into something cool.

  2. Laura says:

    Seeing the spinning wheel is very cool. A physical connection to Carrie! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

